Human + The Future of Our Sensesbrings viewers into the enigmatic world of scientists, researchers, and entrepreneurs who are revolutionizing the way people see, touch, taste, hear, and smell. Each episode delves into the awe-inspiring and emotional stories of people whose lives are being transformed through some of the most cutting-edge advances in technology of the five senses: touch, sight, hearing, taste and smell.

NEXT BROADCAST

Saturdays 8PM | Starting July 20
More information »
Wednesdays 10PM | Starting August 21
More information »

EPISODES

TOUCH

The sense of touch is an invisible force of human nature. Not only does it perceive tiny elements that our eyes can’t see, but it plays a vital role in our lives. It has an important influence on our physical capacity, our cerebral functioning, and our well-being. Without it, we’d be completely lost. Today, touch is undergoing a revolution. Science has pushed the limits of nature thanks to technological touch. It is now possible to touch objects virtually that are invisible or located thousands of kilometres away. A simple movement in the air is enough to control them. Medical technology has even succeeded in giving a sense of touch to bionic limbs made of metal, plastic, wires, and processors. Slowly but surely, prosthesesare starting to perform better than natural limbs. Ten years ago, who could have imagined that science would have advanced so quickly? Virtual touch will, soon be part of our daily lives. How far will this revolution take us?

SIGHT

The science of sight has entered a new era. We are starting to understand how a few rare individuals can see better or see faster. We meet a woman who can see a hundred more colors than the average human being, and a heavyweight boxer who undergoes sophisticated training to increase the speed of his visual reflexes and acuity. Becoming superhuman, these individuals are examples of what we all may aspire to. As silicon and carbon meld and point the way to our bionic future, we discover how technology is starting to replace or enhance vision for those who have lost it. We witness the moment when a husband and father, equipped with an experimental retinal implant, sees his wife and child for the first time. We meet a young student who can “see” with his tongue. And we find how connectivity and miniaturization can give all blind people the gift of seeing through another person’s eyes.

HEARING

As the mysteries of hearing are revealed, we see how technology and scientific progress are working to restore, replace, or supercharge this enormously powerful human sense. We meet a young man who shows us the potential of musical hearing and a blind man whose hearing is so acute that he can navigate a bicycle by the sound of the echo of a click.  As technology starts to merge with humanity, we meet true bionic pioneers: the recipients of cochlear implants who demonstrate how the brain can learn to interpret a new synthetic sense. We discover hearing aids that surpass the ear’s natural acoustic abilities and even read the brain’s intentions. There are researchers working to use sound to improve cognition and memory while we sleep. And we learn how one company is developing an innovative, effective technology that uses the skin as a conduit to pass sound to the brain.

TASTE AND SMELL

Smelling is as natural as breathing. Sixteen times a minute, you breathe the air that passes through your nose to fill your lungs. Billions of molecules passing through your nasal cavities are captured by the cells of your olfactory organ. Your sense of smell is much more developed than you might imagine. In your genetic code, 400 genes make upthe receptors of your sense of smell. You are able to smell billions of odors. Yes, your nose is capable of astonishing exploits! Scientistsand others are presently working in the realms of taste and smell to understand their powers. They are bringing to light the mystery that, from conception to adulthood,reveals a fabulous potential. Tomorrow, your nose will help you uncover disease, vanquish pain, lower your stress level, improve your social life, make you feel safe, learn and improve yourwell-being. All these incredible powers will be in your hands: all you have to do is discover them!

ORCHESTRA OF THE SENSES

Sight, touch, hearing, taste, and smell send sensory messages to the brain at a speed of 430km/hr. The two cerebral hemispheres deal with 11 million information signals per second –an imperceptible and continualeffort.This continual flow of information is sorted and analyzed by the brain,which directs the senses, organizes them, and improves them without any technological intervention. The brain’s plasticity, which we are only beginning to understand allows it to continually adapt. If you lose one sense, the brain re-organizes and compensates by increasing the power of the other senses. Like an extraordinary talented blind artist who is able to use his fingers to feel the color of the paint before applying it to the canvas. Occasionally, the brain decides to do things differently and orchestrates the senses in an original way, as inthe case of synesthetes, who are able to makean association between two senses or more at atime. There are even those able to physically experience the pain of others.

FOLLOW US!

Experience HUMAN + on our social media platforms.

THE PROTAGONISTS

Meet the experts, scientists and academics of Human +.

CREDITS

Idéacom International
Bonne Pioche Télévision
PRESENT

 

A SERIES BY
Vincent Barthélemy

 

IN COLLABORATION WITH
Duncan McDowall & Yann Renoard

 

DIRECTED BY
Vincent Barthélemy
Leo Singer
Thomas Cirotteau

 

PRODUCERS
Nicolas Cennac
Amy Webb

 

EXECUTIVES PRODUCERS
Josette D. Normandeau
André Barro
Emmanuel Priou
Yves Darondeau

PARTNERS

Human + Le Futur de nos sens emmène les téléspectateurs dans l’univers énigmatique des scientifiques, des chercheurs et des entrepreneurs qui révolutionnent la manière dont les êtres humains voient, touchent, goûtent, entendent et sentent. À chaque épisode, les téléspectateurs sont plongés dans les histoires impressionnantes et émouvantes de personnages dont la vie est transformée par certaines des avancées technologiques les plus pointues, dans le domaine de la science et de la technologie liées à nos cinq sens : le toucher, la vue, l’ouïe, le goût et l’odorat.

MAINTENANT DISPONIBLE EN LIGNE

Disponible sur Tou.tv
REGARDER »
All five episodes now online
WATCH »

ÉMISSIONS

LE TOUCHER

Le sens du toucher est une force invisible de la nature humaine. Non seulement il perçoit de minuscules éléments que les yeux ne peuvent pas voir, mais il joue également un rôle essentiel dans notre vie. Il influe sur nos capacités physiques, notre fonctionnement cérébral et notre bien-être. Sans le sens du toucher, nous serions complètement perdus. Aujourd’hui, le toucher vit une véritable révolution. La science a repoussé les limites de la nature grâce au toucher technologique : il est maintenant possible de toucher et de déplacer virtuellement des objets invisibles ou situés à des milliers de kilomètres de distance. La technologie médicale a déjà réussi à ajouter un sens du toucher aux membres bioniques, faits de métal, de plastique, de fils et de processeurs. Petit à petit, les prothèses deviennent plus performantes que les membres naturels. Le toucher virtuel fera bientôt partie de notre vie quotidienne.

LA VUE

La science de la vue est entrée dans une nouvelle ère. Nous commençons à comprendre comment certains individus peuvent mieux voir ou voir plus rapidement. Nous rencontrons un boxeur poids lourd qui suit un entraînement sophistiqué pour augmenter son acuité et la vitesse de ses réflexes visuels. À mesure que le silicium et le carbone se combinent et tracent la voie de notre avenir bionique, nous découvrons à quel point la technologie commence à remplacer ou à améliorer la vision de ceux qui l’ont perdue. Nous témoignons du moment où un homme, équipé d’un implant rétinien expérimental, regarde les visages de sa femme et de son fils pour la première fois. Nous découvrons aussi comment la connectivité et la miniaturisation peuvent donner aux aveugles le don de voir à travers les yeux d’une autre personne.

L’OUÏE

Alors que les mystères de l’audition commencent à se dévoiler, la technologie et le progrès scientifique s’efforcent de restaurer, remplacer ou surcharger ce sens humain extrêmement puissant. Nous rencontrons un jeune homme qui nous révèle le potentiel de l’audition musicale et un aveugle dont l’ouïe est si pointue qu’il peut circuler à vélo. Alors que la technologie commence à fusionner avec l’être humain, nous rencontrons de véritables pionniers de la bionique : des individus munis d’implants cochléaires, qui démontrent comment le cerveau peut apprendre à interpréter un nouveau sens synthétique. Nous découvrons des appareils auditifs qui surpassent les capacités acoustiques naturelles de l’oreille et peuvent même décrypter les intentions du cerveau.

LE GOÛT ET L’ODORAT

L’odorat est aussi naturel que la respiration. Seize fois par minutes vous inspirez de l’air qui passe par votre nez et remplit vos poumons. Des milliards de molécules parcourent vos fosses nasales et sont captées par les cellules de votre organe olfactif. Votre sens de l’odorat est pourtant bien plus développé que vous ne l’imaginez. Dans votre code génétique, 400 gènes fabriquent les récepteurs de votre odorat. Vous êtes capable de sentir des milliards d’odeurs. Certes, votre nez est capable d’exploits étonnants ! Des scientifiques, parmi d’autres, travaillent présentement sur les domaines du goût et de l’odorat. Ils dévoilent le mystère qui depuis notre conception jusqu’à notre vie d’adulte, révèle un fabuleux potentiel. Demain, votre nez vous aidera à déceler des maladies, à lutter contre la douleur et à réduire votre stress.

LE MÉLANGE DES SENS

La vue, le toucher, l’ouïe, le goût, et l’odorat transmettent des messages sensoriels au cerveau à une vitesse de 430 km/h. Les deux hémisphères cérébraux traitent 11 millions de données par seconde — un travail imperceptible et pourtant permanent. Ce flux continu d’information est trié et analysé par le cerveau, qui dirige les sens, les organise et les améliore sans le moindre recours à une intervention technologique. La plasticité du cerveau, un phénomène que nous commençons seulement à comprendre, lui permet de s’adapter en permanence. Si vous perdez un sens par exemple, le cerveau se réorganise et se rattrape en augmentant la puissance des autres sens. Mais le cerveau peut parfois aussi décider de battre la mesure différemment et d’orchestrer les sens d’une manière originale. C’est ce qui le cas avec les synesthètes, des personnes qui sont capables de faire une association entre deux sens ou plus à la fois…

DISCUTONS

Les modules éducatifs Human + sont conçus de manière à approfondir l’intérêt des téléspectateurs après avoir visionné la série (en tant qu’ épisodes individuels ou en continuité). Les modules présentent des questions servant de point de départ à la discussion et de plus amples renseignements sur les sens humains. Ciblant un vaste auditoire, ils ont comme objectif de provoquer des conversations, d’inspirer de nouvelles voies éducatives et de stimuler l’introspection.

Qui pourrait utiliser les modules éducatifs ?

  • le grand public; 
  • les animateurs d’ateliers, éducateurs et étudiants dans des contextes de sensibilisation et d’apprentissage; 
  • les professionnels en médecine;
  • les technologues du domaine de la santé.

SUIVEZ-NOUS!

Poursuivez l’expérience HUMAN + en nous retournant sur nos réseaux sociaux.

LES INTERVENANTS

Rencontrez les experts, les scientifiques et les universitaires de Human +.

CRÉDITS

Idéacom international
Bonne Pioche Télévision
PRÉSENTENT

 

UNE SÉRIE DE
Vincent Barthélemy

 

EN COLLABORATION AVEC
Duncan McDowall & Yann Renoard

 

RÉALISÉE PAR
Vincent Barthélemy
Leo Singer
Thomas Cirotteau

 

PRODUCTEURS
Nicolas Cennac
Amy Webb

 

PRODUCTEURS EXÉCUTIFS
Josette D. Normandeau
André Barro
Emmanuel Priou
Yves Darondeau

PARTENAIRES